A literature review is a narrative description of the chosen research topic. It's a part of graduate and post-graduate student work, that they include in the preparation of their thesis/dissertation or a journal article. In a literature review section, you will find evidence /resources and substantive findings as well as theoretical and methodological contributions to a particular topic. Most often the information stated under this section is from book reviews and academic/peer-reviewed articles.
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain materials that are not held by the NDU Libraries.
Develop a search strategy:
1- Brainstorm your research topic.
2- Develop subject headings.
3- Find keyword/ phrases for each concept of the research question.
4- Elaborate and precise your focal point.
Search tips:
1- Use some of the suggested open access databases to find more synonyms in dictionaries/thesaurus. (Art & Architecture Thesaurus (Research at the Getty) (Cook’s Thesaurus) or www.thesaurus.com)
2- Use boolean operators (and, Or,Not) while doing your research in our library.
3- Use the chat button to contact us in order to help you.
Aim: To give readers a comprehensive overview of the topic and to highlight significant areas of research.
characteristics: A literature review has a wide scope and follows a non-standardized methodology.
Structure: A literature review have multiple type
1- it may be chronological (topic development is going over time)
2- Methodological (compares the results)
3- Thematic (addresses different aspects of the topic)
4- Theoretical (discusses various theories, models and concepts).
Email Us
Fill the Form
Research Methodology by
About the Book: This second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated and efforts have been made to enhance the usefulness of the book. In this edition a new chapter The Computer: Its Role in Research have been added keeping in view of the fact that computers by now become a indispensable part of research equipment. The other salient feature of this revised edition, subject contents have been developed and restructured at several places. New problems have also been added in various chapters. Adoption of appropriate methodology is an essential characteristic of quality research studies irrespective of the discipline with which they are related. The present book provides the basic tenets of methodological research so that researchers may become familiar with the art of using research methods and techniques. The book contains introductory explanations of several quantitative methods enjoying wide use in social sciences. It covers a fairly wide range, related to Research Methodology. The presentations are uniformly economical and cogent. Illustrations given are meaningful and relevant. The book can be taken as a well-organised guide for researchers whose methodological background is not extensive. The book is primarily intended to serve as a textbook for social science students of all Indian universities. It will also serve as a text for the students of M.Phil, Management, and students of various institutes. It will serve all practitioners doing research of one form or other in a general way. Contents: Research Methodology: An Introduction Defining the Research Problem Research Design Sampling Design Measurement and Scaling Techniques Methods of Data Collection Processing and Analysis of Data Sampling Fundamentals Testing of Hypotheses-I (Parametric or Standard Tests of Hypotheses) Chi-Square Test Analysis of Variance and Covariance Testing of Hypotheses-II (Non parametric or Distribution-Free Test) Multivariate Analysis Techniques Interpretation and Report Writing The Computer: ITS Role in Research Appendix-Selected Statistical Tables.
DRM, a Design Research Methodology by
The initial motivator for the development of DRM, a Design Research Methodology, and the subsequent writing of this book was our frustration about the lack of a common terminology, benchmarked research methods, and above all, a common research methodology in design. A shared view of the goals and framework for doing design research was missing. Design is a multidisciplinary activity occurring in multiple application areas and involving multiple stakeholders. As a consequence, design research emerges in a variety of disciplines for a variety of applications with a variety of subjects. This makes it particularly difficult to review its literature, relate various pieces of work, find common ground, and validate and share results that are so essential for sustained progress in a research community. Above all, design research needs to be successful not only in an academic sense, but also in a practical sense. How could we help the community develop knowledge that is both academically and practically worthwhile? Each of us had our individual ideas of how this situation could be improved. Lucienne Blessing, while finishing her thesis that involved studying and improving the design process, developed valuable insights about the importance and relationship of empirical studies in developing and evaluating these improvements. Amaresh Chakrabarti, while finishing his thesis on developing and evaluating computational tools for improving products, had developed valuable insights about integrating and improving the processes of building and evaluating tools.
The Essence of Research Methodology by
Methodology is the ?eld which is indisputably complex. In the academic world, it is often said to be important, yet in everyday academic practice, it is not always treated accordingly. In teaching, methodology is often a mandatory course. Usually, it consists of learning how to adopt several common approaches when doing research, and how to conceive a research design (often leading to a survey). This usually leads to collecting data on a modest scale and - when the opportunity arises - analysing the data with the help of some statistics. Ask the students of their opinion at the end of such a course and they tend to heave a deep sigh of relief and say, "I have got through it. " Then their real courses start again, in which methodology often does not play a role at all. We are of the opinion that writing-off methodology in this way is a real pity. It ignores the valuable role that methodology should play in academic teaching as a whole. Here, methodology is presented as a form of thinking and acting that, while obviously entailing research work, can also include the design and change of organisations. This broad approach has been purposefully chosen, as it is almost obvious from research and graduation projects that the students do not really have a clue what methodology involves and, therefore, wasting their time by producing work that has a little quality.
Research Methodology: a Guide for Researchers in Agricultural Science, Social Science and Other Related Fields by
This book is the outcome of more than 20 years of experience of the author in teaching and research field. The wider scope and coverage of the book will help not only the students/ researchers/professionals in the field of agriculture and allied disciplines, but also the researchers and practitioners in other fields. Written in simple and lucid language, the book would appeal to all those who are meant to be benefitted out of it. All efforts have been made to present "RESEARCH", its meaning, intention and usefulness. The book reflects current methodological techniques used in interdisciplinary research, as illustrated with many relevant worked out examples. Designing of research programme, selection of variables, collection of data and their analysis to interpret the data are discussed extensively. Statistical tools are complemented with real-life examples, making the otherwise complicated subject like statistics seem simpler. Attempts have been made to demonstrate how a user can solve the problems using simple computer-oriented programme. Emphasis is placed not only on solving the problems in various fields but also on drawing inferences from the problems. The importance of instruments and computers in research processes and statistical analyses along with their misuse/incorrect use is also discussed to make the user aware about the correct use of specific technique. In all the chapters, theories are combined with examples, and steps are enumerated to follow the correct use of the available packages like MSEXCELL, SPSS, SPAR1, SAS etc. Utmost care has been taken to present varied range of research problems along with their solutions in agriculture and allied fields which would be of immense use to readers.
Methodological Advances in Research on Emotion and Education by
This volume presents different conceptual and theoreticalframeworks as well as research methods that have helped educational researchersto study emotions. It includes innovative approaches that push themethodological boundaries that have served educational researchers until nowand proposes new ways of researching emotions in educational contexts. In particular,this edited volume provides a historical frame for studying emotions. Itconnects theoretical/epistemological views with choice of research methods and describes specificmethods helpful in doing research on emotions as they are grounded in differenttheoretical and disciplinary traditions such as psychology, philosophy,sociology, history, political science, cultural studies, and feminist studies.Finally, it appreciates the contextual and international dimensions of studyingemotions in education and contributes to ongoing debates about the implicationsof our methodological choices for understanding emotion in education. Thiscombination of variety, timeliness, potential for transformation of the field,and uniqueness make this a very valuable resource to introduce new scholars inthe field alongside established scholars.
|
 |
|
|
|