LibGuides: Special Collections Guide: Lebanese Diplomats Archives Collections Main Page

Lebanese Diplomats Archives

Housed in the Special Collections Department at Notre Dame University (NDU) Libraries as part of LERC collections, the Lebanese Diplomats Archives document the personal and professional lives of the Lebanese ambassadors and consuls including their social and political activities, interests and publications. These collections consist of paper and electronic records, as well as photographs, audiovisual materials, artwork, personal objects, awards and memorabilia. These collections are arranged by alphabetical order and fully described in individual Finding Aids section.

Special Collections:

Khodr Heloui (1952- )

Finding Aid, Khodr Heloui Collection
Collection Number: LBN 2022/001

Ambassador Khodr Heloui

Khodr Heloui worked as ambassador of Lebanon to the State of Kuwait for three years (February 2013 To March 2016). He holds a Doctorate in Philosophy from the “University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne”, Paris-France. He held many managerial positions in the banking sector. He also taught in several schools and universities.

Melhem Talhouk (1908-1998)

Finding Aid, Melhem Talhouk Collection
Collection Number: LBN 2018/002

Ambassador Melhem Talhouk (in the middle) presenting his credentials to President Fernando Belaúnde Terry, Peru, 1967.

Melhem Ibrahim Talhouk was a consul, diplomat in several countries and former ambassador to Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia in the 1960s. The collection consists of a book draft, testimonial, certificates, awards, photographs, photograph albums relating to Talhouk's careers as consul and ambassador. The Collection was donated to LERC by his daughter, Mrs. Nadia Talhouk-Assaf and his son Mr. Toufic Talhouk.

Digital Images, Melhem Talhouk Collection:

Notre Dame University-Louaize (Lebanon). Lebanese Research Center for Migration and Diaspora Studies (LERC). The Lebanese Diplomats Archives Collections

Gilbert Aoun (1940-2009)

Finding Aid, Gilbert Aoun Collection
Collection Number: LBN 2018/003

Ambassador Gilbert Aoun.

Ambassador Gilbert Aoun was born in Damour, Lebanon, in 1940. He was a diplomatic man, who served Lebanon with devotion and imposed mutual respect among the countries he served in. He was in charge of enhancing the conditions of emigrants and worked hard in the formation of strong Lebanese communities in the countries of emigration. Ambassador Aoun retired in 2004 and became a professor of International Public Law at the Institute of Political Sciences at Saint Joseph University (USJ). He lectured on key topics, including "The Impact of International Resolutions on Politics" in Lebanon and the region, in 2005. He died on May 19, 2009 of a heart attack.