Repository:

Call No.:

Creator:

Title:
 

Collection Dates:
 

Physical Description:
 

Extent:
 

Abstract:

 

Language(s):
 

Note:
 

Provenance
Khodr Heloui donated his collection to the Lebanese Research Center for Migration and Diaspora Studies (LERC) in October 2018. The collection was delivered to the Special Collections Department in May 2018 for preservation.

Access Restrictions
The collection can be used within the premises of the Special Collections Department, Mariam and Youssef Library, Notre Dame University - Louaize (NDU) -Zouk Mosbeh.

Access
The collection is open for research under the supervision of the Special Collections Department staff members.

Ownership & Copyright
©2018 Notre Dame University-Louaize (Lebanon). Digital reproductions are provided for private study, scholarship and research use only, and may not be downloaded for use in electronic or print publications including web sites, exhibitions, or broadcasts, without permission of the copyright owner.

Preferred Citation
Researchers wishing to cite this collection should include the following information:
Identification of item, Diplomatic Collection, Khodr Heloui papers, Box number, Folder number, Special Collections, Notre Dame University-Louaize (NDU), Zouk Mosbeh, Lebanon.

Compiled by
Finding aid written by Zeina Fahed, Special Collections, Assistant Specialist and Antoinette Kattoura, Librarian, Head, Special Collections.
 

Khodr Heloui was born in Tripoli, Lebanon, in 1952. He is a former ambassador of Lebanon to the State of Kuwait. He graduated from the Lebanese University in 1978 with a BA in Philosophy and from the Université de Paris 1, La Sorbonne in 1983 with a PhD in Philosophy.

He was appointed as an ambassador of Lebanon to the State of Kuwait for three years from 2013 until 2016. Ambassador Khodr Heloui possesses an important knowledge of diplomacy and international relations. He developed foreign policies safeguarding and promoting Lebanon’s national interests in the conduct of relations with Kuwait. He negotiated government agreements based on trust, and cooperation at all levels in order to strengthen ties between the two countries.

In addition to overseeing embassy activities in support of Lebanese diaspora, Ambassador Heloui took charge of delivering detailed reports to the Lebanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Emigrants in order to keep them up with the foreign development, especially in the area of trade policies.

Before that, he served as branch manager for both SGBL Sal (1981-1988) and BankMed Sal (1986-1988). He continued to work as branch manager until 2008 where he became the Regional Manager of North Lebanon for Fransabank Sal (2008-2013). Mr. Heloui has also taught in some schools and universities in Lebanon. He taught philosophy at Ecole Normale de Tripoli (1978-1983) and occupied the General Secretary position at Rawdat Al Fayhaa School – Tripoli (1984-1990). Moreover, he worked as a part time professor at the Université Saint Joseph in the faculty of business (1990-1994).

Ambassador Khodr Heloui is the author of a book originally published in Arabic language titled: “شارع الكنائس: إضاءات على مدينة متوسطية في النصف الثاني من القرن العشرين". His book is translated to the French language under the title: “La rue des Eglises: Il était une ville paisible: Tripoli au Liban-Nord”.

Ambassador Heloui is married to Mrs. Hanaa el Mohtady and has three children.

The collection spans the years 2012-2017. It consists of a variety of print and audiovisual materials related to Heloui’s throughout his tenure as ambassador of Lebanon to the State of Kuwait. It also covers the activities of the embassy where he worked hard to consolidate the relationships between Lebanon and the State of Kuwait.

The Collection consists of six series: Correspondence, Writings, Biographical Materials, Newspaper Clippings, Photos and Multimedia.

Correspondence series is largely professional and relates primarily to Khodr Heloui’s diplomatic work. It is mainly composed of letters received by the ambassador relevant to his mission as ambassador of Lebanon to the State of Kuwait. The series also includes greetings and invitation cards. Most of the collection is in Arabic and English. The series is divided into three subseries: Incoming correspondence, Outgoing correspondence and Greetings & Invitation Cards.

Writings series contains writings by Khodr Heloui, such as formal discourses in Arabic delivered on special occasions. It also includes writings by others as well as Khodr Heloui’s book, which is available at NDU Libraries in French. The series is organized into three subseries: Writings by Khodr Heloui, Writings by Others and Books.

Biographical Material:: This series includes the ambassador’s business cards.

Newspaper Clippings: The series consists of newspaper clippings extracted from English and Arabic newspapers and collected by Dr. Khoder Heloui. Materials are arranged in alphabetical order.

Photographs series: This series consists of 129 color photographs in print and in various sizes documenting Heloui’s career as an ambassador of Lebanon to the State of Kuwait. The photographs series documents official activities and events either held by H.E. Heloui or with his participation.

Multimedia:: This series documents the activities of the Lebanese Embassy during the tenure of Khodr Heloui as ambassador of Lebanon to the state of Kuwait. The collection is stored chronologically in a box and preserved digitally.

The collection is organized by type of material and therein chronologically into the following series:

1. Correspondence
2. Writings
3. Biographical Materials
4. Newspaper Clippings
5. Photos
6. Multimedia