The Benedict guide will provide a tour on some effective readings, books and articles accompanied with interviews with Dr.Edward Alam that was endowed the chair for this collection were he will brief our user about the importance of this collection and enlight it more.
Benedict XVI by
The Papacy is the oldest and the most successful institution in the world. Asking the Pope to abandon or water down Catholic doctrine would be like asking him to abolish his own office. Joseph Ratzinger has been the most powerful figures in the Catholic Church after John Paul II for decades. It is entirely right that he should have the opportunity to serve the Church as Pope for he is so obviously head and shoulders above the rest. And yet Benedict XVI remains a mysterious figure, who has operated from behind closed doors-most recently the doors of the Congregation for the Doctrine of The Faith in Rome. There will be studies of Ratzinger's theology. Indeed there have already been such. But who is the man of flesh, blood and spirit behind the not so public persona. Laurence Paul Hemming has observed the Papacy and the events leading up to the election of the present Pope meticulously. He has written a charming and warm portrait of The Holy Father to make this highly intellectual man more accessible to a wide public. When Benedict XVI declared himself 'a simple and humble labourer in the Lord's vineyard' he gave the world an early indication of his style. A passionate defender of the Faith yet a man anxious to listen.
The Call of the Holy by
This title provides an enquiry into the sacramental theology of Chauvet, Heidegger and Benedict XVI. Chauvet is the voice of contemporary Catholic sacramental theology. His ideas are assimilated by students of theology (particularly, the liturgy) throughout the French and English speaking world more or less without critical appraisal. This is because his major work Symbole et Sacrement is interdisciplinary, moving from a scholastic theological view of sacraments, through a philosophical enquiry both into Heidegger's thought and into theorists of language, to a consideration of anthropology and the monographs of ethnographers. Few readers of Chauvet are equipped with the inter-disciplinary resources to question his theological conclusions. The Call of the Holy revisits Chauvet's sources, with special emphasis on Heidegger's philosophical writings. It uncovers serious omissions in Chauvet's appropriation of Heidegger's thought. These omissions destabilise Chauvet's theological positions and have far-reaching implications, given the influence of Chauvet's thought, for contemporary Catholic sacramental theology. T&T Clark Studies in Fundamental Liturgy offer leading scholarship from all disciplines related to liturgical study. The books in the series seek to reintegrate biblical, patristic, historical, dogmatic and philosophical questions with liturgical study in ways faithful and sympathetic to classical liturgical enquiry. Volumes in the series include monographs, translations of recent texts and edited collections around very specific themes. The series is edited by Susan Frank Parsons and Laurence Paul Hemming of the Society of St. Catherine of Siena.
Pope Benedict XVI by
Do you know the real Pope Benedict? Journalist Peter Seewald does. After writing an unfair attack on Cardinal Ratzinger, he was urged by Catholic readers to meet with the man he was maligning. He did so--and the result was two book-length interviews, Salt of the Earth, andGod and the World. Seewald also returned to his Catholic faith, saying that Ratzinger was the one who "taught me what it meant to swim against the stream." This book, written mainly by Seewald, describes the paths of Joseph Ratzinger's life from his birthplace in Bavaria all the way to being the first German Pope in 482 years. It is illuminated with a stunning collection of some of the most personal, and most surprising photographs. These show the Pope as he really is: "a humble servant in the vineyard of the Lord". Illustrated with over 150 photos.
Innovation Within Tradition by
Innovation within Tradition is an exploration of the meaning and implications of Joseph Ratzinger's biblical interpretation of the women of salvation history. Mary Frances McKenna argues that Ratzinger's work, through his development and refinement of the church's tradition, brings the important role and significance of the female characters of Scripture to the fore by placing them at the heart of Christian faith. Explicating the pope emeritus's concept of a "female line in the Bible," which has a profound impact on the meaning and interpretation of the women of salvation history, the volume shows that this concept illustrates the practical value and creative nature of his approach to theology and biblical interpretation. Pivotal to the argument are questions around the findings on the notion of person, feminist theology, salvation history, and Mary, as well as the use of history in theology and biblical interpretation and the potential for the continuing development and deepening of the church's comprehension of the meaning of revelation. The book advances a constructive approach, in coordination with these questions, for a Trinitarian theology of society, addresses old theological issues anew, and provides a starting point for an interdenominational understanding of Mary.
Mary by
Two great theologians endeavor to recover the centrality of Marian doctrine and devotion for the contemporary Church, offering a spiritually rich approach to Mariology that brings into new relief the Marian contours of ecclesial faith. Ratzinger and von Balthasar show that Mary is both the embodiment of the Church, and the mother who co-operates in giving birth to the Church in the souls of believers. At once profound and yet readily accessible, Mary: The Church at the Source offers a theologically balanced and biblically grounded presentation of traditional and contemporary thought on Marian doctrine and spirituality.
Eschatology by
Originally published in English in 1988, Joseph Ratzinger's Eschatology remains internationally recognized as a leading text on the "last things"--heaven and hell, purgatory and judgment, death and the immortality of the soul. This highly anticipated second edition includes a new preface by Joseph Ratzinger/Pope Benedict XVI and a supplement to the bibliography by theologian Peter A. Casarella. Eschatology presents a balanced perspective of the doctrine at the center of Christian belief--the Church's faith in eternal life. Recognizing the task of contemporary eschatology as "to marry perspectives, so that person and community, present and future, are seen in their unity," Joseph Ratzinger brings together recent emphasis on the theology of hope for the future with the more traditional elements of the doctrine. His book has proven to be as timeless as it is timely.
Email Us
Fill the Form
|
 |
|
|
|
