Banner Image

Humanities Subject Guide

Banner for Faculty of Humanities

About

This Humanities Subject Guide is developed to support our humanities students. It is a handy tool that introduces humanities resources to students, faculty members and the public. This subject guide will host information on materials from our Library print collection, e-resources and professional development materials that support our users with their research and projects on all levels.
 
Need help asap?
Contact us at Reference@ndu.edu.lb.

e-Books

Core e-Resources

NDU Faculty of Humanities

Faculty Profile

Historical Overview

Databases

 Academic Search Ultimate

  • Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology, and many other fields. (NDU Access: 1887-present)

 Cambridge Journals Online

  • Cambridge Journals Online is the e-publishing service for over 360 journals from over 40 subject areas published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). Users are encouraged to register for an account in order to take advantage of all CUP services, such as: Content alerts (to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your field); Access free online sample material for almost all Cambridge journals, and more.

 Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR)

  • Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is a multi-faceted reference work which covers biblical and religious topics as well as their reception in an array of religious, cultural and academic disciplines and fields. Its content is the result of an interdisciplinary approach, transcending a purely theological perspective, to include fields ranging from classical, literary and religious studies to archaeology, music, visual arts and film. In addition, the encyclopedia is interreligious (Judaism, Christianity, Islam and other religions) from the aspect of both its content and its authors. EBR’s authors come from and work in over 55 countries and are members of faculties, institutes and acclaimed academic institutions worldwide. This ensures the international character of the entries and the up-to-date quality of the articles.

 HEDBIB

  • HEDBIB is a database on higher education systems, administration, planning, policy, and evaluation. It has been maintained by the IAU since 1988, and was redeveloped and upgraded in 2010. Most of the features of HEDBIB are available to all, however IAU Member institutions and organizations benefit from additional services in HEDBIB such as access to abstracts and the possibility to receive bibliographies by e-mail. Users can request access through the e-Resources and Serials department serials@ndu.edu.lb

 JSTOR

  • JSTOR database provides online access to the complete backfiles of more than 117 core scholarly journals (in digitized format) of several academic disciplines, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available and new titles are added constantly. JSTOR does not include current journal issues. There is a gap of about 2 to 5 years (moving wall) between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

 Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present.Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

 ProQuest Central

  • ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database totaling more than 12,000 titles, with over 9,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively in this product including core subject areas such as: Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, and more.

 PsycARTICLES

  • PsycARTICLES from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The PsycARTICLES covers journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. These journals are available in full text. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

 Shamaa

  • Shamaa (Arab Educational Information Network) is an open access electronic database of literature on education produced in or about the Arab countries. It indexes peer-refereed articles, Master thesis and PhD dissertations, books, reports and conference proceedings starting from 2007 in Arabic, English and French languages. The studies include abstracts as well as the full text, whenever available.

 SpringerLink

  • SpringerLink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals and books. Our collection includes online access to all Springer English journals and eBooks as well as access to more than 40,000 Springer Protocols, Springer Materials, Springer Videos, and NANO. Topics covered are: Architecture, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Science and Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, Professional Computing and Web Design.

Recommended Journals

Open Access Resources

Institutional Repository

NDU Institutional Repository contains a collection of research and publications written by academic authors, students, staff, alumni and research groups.

Social Media Platform & Application

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

ILL

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain materials that are not held by the NDU Libraries.

Feedback

We appreciate your comments, suggestions and questions concerning this guide.

   Email Us

   Fill the Form
Facebook Instagram Twitter