Banner Image

Natural & Applied Sciences Subject Guide

Banner for Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences

About

This Natural & Applied Sciences Subject Guide is developed to support our Natural & Applied Sciences students. It is a handy tool that introduces Natural & Applied Sciences resources to students, faculty members and the public. This subject guide will host information on materials from our Library print collection, e-resources and professional development materials that support our users with their research and projects on all levels.
 
Need help asap?
Contact us at Reference@ndu.edu.lb.

e-Books

Core e-Resources

NDU Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

Faculty Profile

Historical Overview

NEWS | FoPD19 Success Stories Lebanon ☘️

Databases

 Cambridge Journals Online

  • Cambridge Journals Online is the e-publishing service for over 360 journals from over 40 subject areas published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). Users are encouraged to register for an account in order to take advantage of all CUP services, such as: Content alerts (to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your field); Access free online sample material for almost all Cambridge journals, and more.

 Emerald Journals

  • Emerald Journals is a powerful business and management research tool that provides instant access to over 40,000 full text articles from over 100 Emerald titles. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.

 GIS Maps Collection

  • GIS Maps Collection
    The CNRS GIS maps collection covers the below:
    • Soil map of Lebanon
    • Geological map of Lebanon
    • DEM
    • Land cover map
    • Contour lines map
    • Land cover map 2002
    • Rainfall map
    • Cadastral villages map
    The maps collection is provided in accordance with Lebanese copyright law. Therefore, access to this collection is only available On-Campus.

 Global Plants

  • Global Plants is a community-contributed database that lets herbaria share their plant type specimens, experts determine and update plant names, and students discover and learn about plants in context. The database is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.

 IEEE Xplore

  • IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Updated frequently with new content as it becomes available.

 JSTOR

  • JSTOR database provides online access to the complete backfiles of more than 117 core scholarly journals (in digitized format) of several academic disciplines, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available and new titles are added constantly. JSTOR does not include current journal issues. There is a gap of about 2 to 5 years (moving wall) between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

 ProQuest Central

  • ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database totaling more than 12,000 titles, with over 9,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subject areas are covered extensively in this product including core subject areas such as: Business and Economics, Health and Medical, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, and more.

 RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) eBooks

  • RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) eBooks is a definitive point of reference for anyone working in the chemical sciences. Nearly 1500 books, equating to over 25,000 chapters spanning more than 40 years, have been brought together and digitized. The result is a comprehensive overview of research and opinion in a multitude of areas of chemical science.The eBook Collection is fully searchable and indexed to chapter level, with all documents provided as PDFs. NDU Libraries provide access to RSC eBook collection since 1968 to 2015 with unlimited access.

 Science Magazine Online

  • Science Magazine Online is the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The online version of Science magazine includes access to the most recently published, award-winning news content and high-impact peer-reviewed research found in the print version. Coverage: 1880 to 2019.

Social Media Platform & Application

Institutional Repository

NDU Institutional Repository contains a collection of research and publications written by academic authors, students, staff, alumni and research groups.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

ILL

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain materials that are not held by the NDU Libraries.

Feedback

We appreciate your comments, suggestions and questions concerning this guide.

   Email Us

   Fill the Form
Facebook Instagram Twitter