"Despite being irrelevant to the OAW theme, the Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architectural Photographs Collection includes a rich collection related to the heritage of traditional Lebanese architecture that is made freely available to the public. This collection asserts NDU Libraries’ contribution to the Open Access movement.
Heinz Gaube Architectural Photographs Collection
The Notre Dame University-Louaize (NDU) Libraries Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architectural Photographs Collection is a unique series of over 3,100 black and white photographs and related information that documents the rich heritage of traditional Lebanese architecture. Over 285 villages, towns and cities across Lebanon are represented in the collection which was created by German Professor Heinz Gaube between 1970 and 1975 when he lived in Beirut and worked at the Oriental Institute of the German Oriental Society.
The Gaube collection is available for the public through Shared Shelf Commons (http://sscommons.org) under the title: “Notre Dame University-Louaize (Lebanon). Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection” and licensed according to Creative Commons Licenses Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike (CC BY-NC-SA). Please note that 940 images from the Gaube collection have no documentation although it is known that these photos were taken in the northern part of Mount Lebanon district. The unidentified images are also available and searchable in Shared Shelf Commons and in the digital map as "Unknown". The NDU Libraries encourage anyone who can identify the location of these images to contact specialcollections@ndu.edu.lb
Digital Collection
"Notre Dame University-Louaize (Lebanon). Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection”.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Return To Special Collection Main Page >>
TABLE OF CONTENTSDescriptive SummaryAdministrative InformationBiographyCollection Scope and Content NoteArrangementSubject TermsCollection ContentsBox 1Box 2Box 3Box 4Box 5Box 6Box 7-15 |
DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARYRepository: Notre Dame University - Louaize (NDU) LBN 2009/001 Gaube, Heinz, 1940- Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection Collection Dates: 1971-1975 Physical Description: 3100 photographs with negative and data sheets: black and white; 4”x 6” Extent: 2.32 linear feet (9 boxes of photographs; 2 boxes of negatives; 4 boxes of data sheets) Abstract: Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection documents the rich heritage of traditional Lebanese architecture. Over 285 villages, towns and cities across Lebanon from North to South and from the Mediterranean Sea coast to the Bekaa Valley are represented in the collection. Language(s): Collection material in German and English. Digital images: To search the digital images from this collection, use the following: http://bit.ly/2mhTJCg Note: For more information about this collection email: specialcollections@ndu.edu.lb. Return To Table of Contents >>
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATIONProvenance Access Restrictions Ownership & Copyright Preferred Citation Compiled by
BIOGRAPHYHeinz Gaube (September 8, 1940-):born in Boehmisch-Leipa, is a historian, scholar, university professor and a retired chairman of the "Orientalisches Seminar" of Tuebingen University.Professor Gaube studied Iranian Culture, Theology, Oriental Studies, and History of Art in Hamburg, Vienna, Leningrad, Beirut and London. He received his Ph.D. in Oriental Studies from University of Hamburg in 1970. Professor Gaube lived in Lebanon and worked as a researcher and assistant director at Orient-Institute of the German Oriental Society in Beirut/Lebanon from 1970 until 1975. Professor Gaube is also the founder of the "Friends of the Old Town of Aleppo", based in Stuttgart. The Association is involved in the preservation of the decent housing in the Old City as a part of German-Syrian cooperation and the preservation of the cultural heritage of the Old City of Aleppo. For many years, Professor Gaube taught Iranian and Central Asian subjects, the History of the Near East as well as Islamic art and Archaeology in various countries such Germany, Iran, U.S., England, Jordan and Oman. He was appointed as:
Return To Table of Contents >>
COLLECTION SCOPE AND CONTENT NOTEHeinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection contains materials documenting Lebanese traditional architecture. The collection contains a variety of formats including photographs, negatives and supporting documentation regarding key architectural and other structures of the buildings photographed. Materials in this collection run from 1971 through 1975 and represent more than 285 villages, towns and cities across Lebanon.
ARRANGEMENTThe collection is organized into one series: Photographs, Negatives and Data sheets. Materials are arranged by numerical and chronological order.
SUBJECT TERMSArchitecture, Lebanon.
COLLECTION CONTENTS
Series I: Photographs, Negatives and Data sheetsMaterials in this collection consist of photographs taken by Heinz Gaube of the traditional Lebanese architecture between 1970 and 1975. It also includes negatives and data sheets. Each sheet has the same number as its corresponding photograph and includes data related to construction type, date of construction, location, construction techniques and other information. Click here to view the Collection Contents Return To Table of Contents >> |
The Digital Humanities aspect was added to the Gaube project with the aim of making the collection more accessible, interactive and visual. All known villages, towns and cities were located on an open source map that is searchable in English and Arabic with links to the corresponding photos for each location on the online media platform. The result gave the historical collection a new cutting edge geographical dimension.
|
 |
|
|
|