 |
 |
TABLE OF CONTENTS
|
DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARYRepository:
Notre Dame University - Louaize (NDU)
Mariam and Youssef (Main) Library, Special Collections P.O.Box: 72, Zouk Mikael Zouk Mosbeh, Lebanon Email: specialcollections@ndu.edu.lb Call No.:
LBN 2009/001
Creator:
Gaube, Heinz, 1940-
Title:
Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection
Collection Dates:
1971-1975
Physical Description:
3100 photographs with negative and data sheets: black and white; 4”x 6”
Extent:
2.32 linear feet (9 boxes of photographs; 2 boxes of negatives; 4 boxes of data sheets)
Abstract:
Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection documents the rich heritage of traditional Lebanese architecture.
Over 285 villages, towns and cities across Lebanon from North to South and from the Mediterranean Sea coast to the Bekaa Valley are represented in the collection.
Language(s):
Collection material in German and English.
Digital images:
Return To Table of Contents >>
To search the digital images from this collection, use the following: http://bit.ly/2mhTJCg
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATIONProvenance The collection was purchased from Professor Heinz Gaube in 2009. Access Restrictions Digital Collection is open for the public. Original print photographs, negatives and data sheets are available for research use. Ownership & Copyright Photographs by Heinz Gaube © 2009 Notre Dame University-Louaize (Lebanon). Digital reproductions are provided for private study, scholarship and research use only and may not be downloaded for use in electronic or print publications (including web sites), exhibitions, or broadcasts, without permission of the copyright owner. Preferred Citation Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection, Special Collections, Notre Dame University-Louaize. Compiled by
Return To Table of Contents >>
Zeina Fahed, Assistant Specialist, Special Collections and Antoinette Kattoura, Librarian, Head, Special Collections. BIOGRAPHY
Heinz Gaube (September 8, 1940-):born in Boehmisch-Leipa, is a historian, scholar, university professor and a retired chairman of the "Orientalisches Seminar" of Tuebingen University.
Return To Table of Contents >>
Professor Gaube studied Iranian Culture, Theology, Oriental Studies, and History of Art in Hamburg, Vienna, Leningrad, Beirut and London. He received his Ph.D. in Oriental Studies from University of Hamburg in 1970. Professor Gaube lived in Lebanon and worked as a researcher and assistant director at Orient-Institute of the German Oriental Society in Beirut/Lebanon from 1970 until 1975. Professor Gaube is also the founder of the "Friends of the Old Town of Aleppo", based in Stuttgart. The Association is involved in the preservation of the decent housing in the Old City as a part of German-Syrian cooperation and the preservation of the cultural heritage of the Old City of Aleppo. For many years, Professor Gaube taught Iranian and Central Asian subjects, the History of the Near East as well as Islamic art and Archaeology in various countries such Germany, Iran, U.S., England, Jordan and Oman. He was appointed as:
COLLECTION SCOPE AND CONTENT NOTEHeinz Gaube Lebanese Architecture Photographs Collection contains materials documenting Lebanese traditional architecture. The collection contains a variety of formats including photographs, negatives and supporting documentation regarding key architectural and other structures of the buildings photographed. Materials in this collection run from 1971 through 1975 and represent more than 285 villages, towns and cities across Lebanon.
Return To Table of Contents >>
The collection consists of one series of over 3,100 images. It is made up primarily of black and white 4 x 5.9 inch photographic prints. There are also negatives and data sheets describing the collection. ARRANGEMENTThe collection is organized into one series: Photographs, Negatives and Data sheets. Materials are arranged by numerical and chronological order.
Return To Table of Contents >>
SUBJECT TERMSArchitecture, Lebanon.
Return To Table of Contents >>
Vernacular architecture--Lebanon--History COLLECTION CONTENTSSeries I: Photographs, Negatives and Data sheetsMaterials in this collection consist of photographs taken by Heinz Gaube of the traditional Lebanese architecture between 1970 and 1975. It also includes negatives and data sheets. Each sheet has the same number as its corresponding photograph and includes data related to construction type, date of construction, location, construction techniques and other information. Click here to view the Collection Contents
Return To Table of Contents >> |
|
 |
|
|
|