Bibliographic by
Bibliographic: 100 Classic Graphic Design Books is a unique compilation of the best design books of the last 100 years. It covers a huge range of material--historic titles from pioneering type foundries to the best of recent monographs from todays leading studios--and provides an essential insight into the evolution of graphic design in the twentieth century. Classic graphic design manuals by László Moholy-Nagy and Josef Müller-Brockmann are included, alongside pioneering instructional titles on advertising and corporate identity. Monographs designed by andcovering the major individuals and studios of the era--from A.M. Cassandre and Alexey Brodovitch to Stefan Sagmeister and Peter Saville--are detailed, along with groundbreaking anthologies on trademark design, Polish film posters, the impact of the avant-garde, andmore. All the books, whether classic histories of Bauhaus design or rarely seen sourcebooks of symbols and type, are illustrated with a wide selection of spreads and covers, all in color. In addition, leading international designers have provided lists of favorite titles from their own libraries.
Minimal Living by
The new Home series from Beta-Plus invites you to take a fascinating journey through the most
Fireplace Accessories by
Here is the first book that focuses on unique custom-made fireplace accessories as works of art by talented modern artist blacksmiths. Over 400 ideas for unusual fireplace designs reflect historical styles from Renaissance to Post-Modern. You will be amazed at the infinite effects that can be wrought from a bar of metal between the hammers and anvils of more than 100 master artist blacksmiths from nine countries. You'll learn to appreciate the forms that are used, from scrolls to carved animals, and to recognize their texturing, unusual handles and hinges, supports, and more. Fire screens, hoods, doors, andirons, grates, tongs, pokers, shovels, brooms, and their stands emerge as significant decorative items in today's homes. This is also a wonderful sourcebook for homeowners and designers seeking original art for their homes. You will marvel at the artistry, variety, and craftsmanship.
1001 Ideas for Floors by
Floors for Every Taste, Every Purpose. Floors create the largest single decor element in the home, and this book is a comprehensive guide to both the materials available, and the hundreds of decorating effects that can be achieved by choosing the right materials, colors and patterns. This "big book"of flooring inspiration contains more than 600 color photos and illustrations from leading flooring manufacturers, space designers, and interior decor specialists.
21st Century Architecture by
47 designer houses from around the world -- features the latest in contemporary architecture and stylish interior design -- complete with plans and colour photography for each project. This latest addition to IMAGES' 21st Century Architecture series brings together 47 of the world's most stylish contemporary houses from around the world. From Australia and New Zealand, to the Adriatic Coast in Greece, to the rugged mountains of Switzerland; from the suburbs of Japan, to the glittering views from the Hollywood Hills, this diverse selection of modern houses have all been designed by some of the best residential architects working today. Complete with stunning professional colour photography, floor plans and enlightening project descriptions, 21st Century Architecture: DESIGNER HOUSES will be of interest to anyone interested in beautiful houses, those who are looking for inspiration and those who like to dream.
Creating Books and Boxes by
Complete step-by-step instruction, full-color project photos, detailed step illustrations, diagrams, and tips.Creating Books & Boxes presents a new volume on book-making techniques by contemporary book instructor Benjamin Rinehart. Rinehart presents a comprehensive resource for creating basic book-making structures as a starting point, but then adds unique twists to make them a little more surprising, fun, and dimensional. The book includes all the basics (tools, adhesives, archival properties, cutting and terminology), through detailed and highly illustrated instructions and includes unique and special methods for finishing the pages. It covers adding elements such as paper dying, copy transfers, stamping, and paste papers. Sophisticated, beautiful, and original projects in a simplified and accessible presentation make this a perfect book for beginners and experienced book-makers alike.
Creating Interior Atmosphere by
This book sets out to explore the creation of interior atmosphere as seen through the lens of mise-en-scène. You will learn how this film theory informs the concept of 'staged space' translated through the narrative and expressive qualities of a particular scene.Jean Whitehead quickly takes this concept beyond the screen and considers its application to the interior 'setting'. By learning to use the ingredients that inform an 'interior' mise-en-scène such as its backdrop, choice of props, use of special effects alongside the application of colour, pattern, graphics, light and shadow, an immersive atmospheric experience can be created.Packed with inspiring examples and case studies, ranging from cinematic interiors and art installations, to the work of notable interior designers, stylists and architects with an interior interest, this book broadens current thinking around the design of the decorated interior. It will help you to embrace the concepts that underpin an interior mise-en- scène through the use of softer decorative techniques and concerns.
Visit the Writing Center in the Faculty of Humanities - Pink Building, Ground floor - Room HA 114. Call 09-218950 Ext.2375 or email writingcenter@ndu.edu.lb
NDU Institutional Repository Department of Design contains a collection of research and publications written by academic authors, students, staff, alumni and research groups.
|
 |
|
|
|
