FEATURED COLLECTIONS

Labib Boutros Sportsman, sportswriter, author and educator. Collection consists of scrapbooks, family papers, photographs, and other materials. View

Heinz Gaube A unique series of over 3,100 black and white photographs and related information that documents the rich heritage of traditional Lebanese architecture. View

Titanic Collection of 25 original paintings that commemorates the memory of the Lebanese emigrants who perished on the doomed liner. View

Lebanese Diplomats Archives Collection document the personal and professional lives of Lebanese ambassadors and consuls. View

ABOUT US

The Special Collections Department at Notre Dame University Libraries acquires, preserves, and makes accessible rare, valuable, or unique materials which support NDU students, faculty, and research programs, as well as the scholarly community. The department also manages, preserves and digitizes philosophical and theological manuscripts and old documents previously managed by the Center for Digitization & Preservation (CDP).

The Special Collections Department houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, maps and photographs, theses and dissertations, archival records, audio and video recordings and more. Special Collections materials are obtained through donation and purchase.

The collections are in Arabic, English and French with a particular focus on the social, political and cultural history of Lebanon and the Maronites. The department holdings are non-circulating but are available for research in the reading room during posted hours.