Financial Statistics and Mathematical Finance by
Mathematical finance has grown into a huge area of research which requires a lot of care and a large number of sophisticated mathematical tools. Mathematically rigorous and yet accessible to advanced level practitioners and mathematicians alike, it considers various aspects of the application of statistical methods in finance and illustrates some of the many ways that statistical tools are used in financial applications. Financial Statistics and Mathematical Finance: Provides an introduction to the basics of financial statistics and mathematical finance. Explains the use and importance of statistical methods in econometrics and financial engineering. Illustrates the importance of derivatives and calculus to aid understanding in methods and results. Looks at advanced topics such as martingale theory, stochastic processes and stochastic integration. Features examples throughout to illustrate applications in mathematical and statistical finance. Is supported by an accompanying website featuring R code and data sets. Financial Statistics and Mathematical Finance introduces the financial methodology and the relevant mathematical tools in a style that is both mathematically rigorous and yet accessible to advanced level practitioners and mathematicians alike, both graduate students and researchers in statistics, finance, econometrics and business administration will benefit from this book.
Introduction to Probability and Statistics: Principles and Applications for Engineering and the Computing Sciences by
This well-respected text is designed for the first course in probability and statistics taken by students majoring in Engineering and the Computing Sciences. The prerequisite is one year of calculus. The text offers a balanced presentation of applications and theory. The authors take care to develop the theoretical foundations for the statistical methods presented at a level that is accessible to students with only a calculus background. They explore the practical implications of the formal results to problem-solving so students gain an understanding of the logic behind the techniques as well as practice in using them. The examples, exercises, and applications were chosen specifically for students in engineering and computer science and include opportunities for real data analysis.
Foundation Mathematics and Statistics by
Foundation Mathematics and Statistics provides the reader with a firm understanding of the maths and stats they will need for a computing degree or diploma. The book will give the reader competency in a range of mathematical tools required for technical subjects, and the confidence they will need in the classroom. Explanations of mathematical tools are supported by real world examples to make this subject accessible. Graded exercises enable the reader to practice and revise each topic.Starting with the basics of arithmetic and algebraic manipulation, the book covers everything from exponentials to logarithms. Providing a general grounding in proportions, ratios and percentages, this book will also help readers to understand probability and set theory. Finally, coverage includes the summary and presentation of statistical data and the drawing of histograms.
Fundamentals of Probability and Statistics for Engineers by
This textbook differs from others in the field in that it has been prepared very much with students and their needs in mind, having been classroom tested over many years. It is a true "learner's book" made for students who require a deeper understanding of probability and statistics. It presents the fundamentals of the subject along with concepts of probabilistic modelling, and the process of model selection, verification and analysis. Furthermore, the inclusion of more than 100 examples and 200 exercises (carefully selected from a wide range of topics), along with a solutions manual for instructors, means that this text is of real value to students and lecturers across a range of engineering disciplines. Key features: Presents the fundamentals in probability and statistics along with relevant applications. Explains the concept of probabilistic modelling and the process of model selection, verification and analysis. Definitions and theorems are carefully stated and topics rigorously treated. Includes a chapter on regression analysis. Covers design of experiments. Demonstrates practical problem solving throughout the book with numerous examples and exercises purposely selected from a variety of engineering fields. Includes an accompanying online Solutions Manual for instructors containing complete step-by-step solutions to all problems.
Mathematics and Statistics for Financial Risk Management by
Mathematics and Statistics for Financial Risk Management is a practical guide to modern financial risk management for both practitioners and academics. The recent financial crisis and its impact on the broader economy underscore the importance of financial risk management in today's world. At the same time, financial products and investment strategies are becoming increasingly complex. Today, it is more important than ever that risk managers possess a sound understanding of mathematics and statistics. In a concise and easy-to-read style, each chapter of this book introduces a different topic in mathematics or statistics. As different techniques are introduced, sample problems and application sections demonstrate how these techniques can be applied to actual risk management problems. Exercises at the end of each chapter and the accompanying solutions at the end of the book allow readers to practice the techniques they are learning and monitor their progress. A companion website includes interactive Excel spreadsheet examples and templates. This comprehensive resource covers basic statistical concepts from volatility and Bayes' Law to regression analysis and hypothesis testing. Widely used risk models, including Value-at-Risk, factor analysis, Monte Carlo simulations, and stress testing are also explored. A chapter on time series analysis introduces interest rate modeling, GARCH, and jump-diffusion models. Bond pricing, portfolio credit risk, optimal hedging, and many other financial risk topics are covered as well. If you're looking for a book that will help you understand the mathematics and statistics of financial risk management, look no further.
Crc Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
For more than 90 years, researchers around the world have relied on the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics for authoritative, up-to-date data. This year will be no exception. New tables, extensive updates, and added sections mean the Handbook again sets a new standard for reliability, utility, and thoroughness. This Edition includes seven new tables: Vapor Pressure of the Metallic Elements Electrical Conductivity of Aqueous Solutions Proton Affinities Electron Inelastic Mean Free Paths Selected Properties of Semiconductor Solid Solutions Vapor Pressures (Solvent Activities) for Binary Polymer Solutions Density of Sulfuric Acid Substantial revisions and extensive updates of more than 20 tables including: NIST Atomic Transition Probability Tables Summary Tables of Particle Properties Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants Bond Dissociation Energy Standard Transformed Gibbs Energy of Formation for Important Biochemical Species Sources of Physical and Chemical Data appendix And more! The 86th Edition also marks a fresh look for the Handbook. A larger format and new layout makes it easier to read and a new typeface makes the tables and diagrams crystal clear.
Financial Statistics and Mathematical Finance by
Mathematical finance has grown into a huge area of research which requires a lot of care and a large number of sophisticated mathematical tools. Mathematically rigorous and yet accessible to advanced level practitioners and mathematicians alike, it considers various aspects of the application of statistical methods in finance and illustrates some of the many ways that statistical tools are used in financial applications. Financial Statistics and Mathematical Finance: Provides an introduction to the basics of financial statistics and mathematical finance. Explains the use and importance of statistical methods in econometrics and financial engineering. Illustrates the importance of derivatives and calculus to aid understanding in methods and results. Looks at advanced topics such as martingale theory, stochastic processes and stochastic integration. Features examples throughout to illustrate applications in mathematical and statistical finance. Is supported by an accompanying website featuring R code and data sets. Financial Statistics and Mathematical Finance introduces the financial methodology and the relevant mathematical tools in a style that is both mathematically rigorous and yet accessible to advanced level practitioners and mathematicians alike, both graduate students and researchers in statistics, finance, econometrics and business administration will benefit from this book.
Visit the Writing Center in the Faculty of Humanities - Pink Building, Ground floor - Room HA 114. Call 09-218950 Ext.2375 or email writingcenter@ndu.edu.lb
NDU Institutional Repository Department of Mathematics and Statistics contains a collection of research and publications written by academic authors, students, staff, alumni and research groups.
|
 |
|
|
|
