Bio-Based Polyols and Polyurethanes by
This brief outlines the most recent advances in the production of polyols and polyurethanes from renewable resources, mainly vegetable oils, lignocellulosic biomass, starch, and protein. The typical processes for the production of polyols from each of the above mentioned feedstocks are introduced and the properties of the resultant polyols and polyurethanes are also discussed.
The Chemistry and Physics of Coatings by
The Chemistry and Physics of Coatings provides an introduction to the science underpinning the paint (organic coatings) industry to graduate level chemists who may have no previous knowledge of polymer-based technologies. This book stresses important physical phenomena such as rheology, film formation, and mechanical properties, their exploitation in paint, and the economic and legislative background against which coatings technology is tested. Attention is given to the chemistry of the polymers, pigments, and solvents that compose typical coatings, and the complex 'science and art' of formulating them effectively. The book also aims to give insights into the commercial application of the chemistries described, and includes a glossary of industry and polymer-related terms. Revised and updated, this second edition has been expanded to include separate chapters on binders for high solids and solvent-free coatings, inorganic and hybrid coatings and coatings formulation. There is also a new section on coatings additives. The Chemistry and Physics of Coatings will be of particular interest to graduates of materials and polymer sciences and related areas. It will also appeal to undergraduates, lecturers and those in the paint industry. Extracts from reviews of 1st Edition "... readable and surprisingly comprehensive ... In short this is an excellent book, which I recommend without hesitation." Journal of Materials Chemistry "..an informative and thoroughly recommended volume." Polymer International
Dyes and Pigments by
In this book the authors go back to basics to describe the structural differences between dyes and pigments, their mechanisms of action, properties and applications. They set the scene by explaining the reasons behind these differences and show how dyes are predominately organic compounds that dissolve or react with substrates, whereas pigments are (predominantly) finely ground inorganic substances that are insoluble and therefore have a different mode of coloring. They also describe the role of functional groups and their effect on dyeing ability, contrasting this with the way in which pigments cause surface reflection (or light absorption) depending on their chemical and crystalline structure and relative particle size. The book explores the environmental impact of dyes in a section that covers the physical, chemical, toxicological, and ecological properties of dyes and how these are used to assess their effect on the environment and to estimate whether a given product presents a potential hazard. Lastly, it assesses how, in addition to their traditional uses in the textile, leather, paper, paint and varnish industries, dyes and pigments are indispensable in other fields such as microelectronics, medical diagnostics, and in information recording techniques.
Environmental Toxicology by
Environmental Toxicology provides a detailed, comprehensive introduction to this key area of sustainability and public health research. The broad coverage includes sections on ecological risk assessment, monitoring, mechanisms, fate and transport, prevention, and correctives, as well as treatment of the health effects of solar radiation and toxicology in the ocean. The 23 state-of-the-art chapters provide a multi-disciplinary perspective on this vital area, which encompasses environmental science, biology, chemistry, and public health.
Hydrogen Materials Science and Chemistry of Carbon Nanomaterials by
This book considers the various advanced hydrogen materials and technologies of their synthesis. It presents the consideration of the physics, chemistry, thermodynamics and kinetics of processes of energy conversion, which occur at hydrogen production, storage, transportation and with its use. It also discusses the pioneering attempts to transform motor transport, airplanes, domestic technics, illumination and industrial manufacture of hydrogen fuel.
The Really Useful Elementary Science Book by
Amongst the challenges that elementary teachers may often face as they introduce their students to science is the need to maintain a solid understanding of the many scientific concepts and details themselves. This indispensible resource, intended for pre- and in-service elementary school teachers, provides concise and comprehensible explanation of key concepts across science disciplines. Organized around the National Science Education Standards, the book tackles the full range of the elementary curriculum including life sciences, ecological sciences, physical sciences, and earth sciences. Although not a methods text, the clear and accessible definitions offered by veteran teacher educator Jeffrey Bloom will nonetheless help teachers understand science concepts to the degree to which they can develop rich and exciting inquiry approaches to exploring these concepts with children. Perfect as a companion to any elementary science methods textbook or as a stand alone reference for practitioners, The Really Useful Elementary Science Book is a resource teachers will want to reach for again and again.
NDU Institutional Repository Department of Sciences contains a collection of research and publications written by academic authors, students, staff, alumni and research groups.
Visit the Writing Center in the Faculty of Humanities - Pink Building, Ground floor - Room HA 114. Call 09-218950 Ext.2375 or email writingcenter@ndu.edu.lb
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain materials that are not held by the NDU Libraries.
|
 |
|
|
|
