Open Access means that information content is made “freely available on the public Internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles” according to the Budapest Open Access Initiative. NDU Libraries are not responsible of providing technical support to the websites in this section. These resources are only recommended by librarians to help users in their research.
ArXiv Open access to 394,358 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology.
Astrophysics Data System (NASA) Astronomy, astrophysics, and geophysics. Abstracts and over 300,000 Open Access fulltext articles.
Bibliothèque Cantonale et Universitaire - Lausanne More than one million pages, this is the body of literature that the State and University Library Lausanne (BCU Lausanne) makes available free of charge to users. Consultation of a specific issue or a particular page from the collection of “Feuille d’Avis de Lausanne” and “24 heures”, published from 1762 up to 2001, is made possible. The site also offers the functionalities facilitating research in the whole content. The scanned pages can be downloaded, printed or sent by email.
BioMed Central Publisher of more than 150 peer-reviewed open access journals. The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are 'Open Access'. They are immediately and permanently available online without charge. A number of journals require an institutional or a personal subscription to view other content, such as reviews or paper reports. Free trial subscriptions to these journals are available.
Bizjournals.com Bizjournals is the new media division of American City Business Journals, the nation's largest publisher of metropolitan business newspapers. It operates the Web sites for each of the company's 41 print business journals.
CARL Metadata Harvester The CARL/ABRC OAI Harvester currently has 24640 records from 12 archives indexed, and is updated daily.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online is a database that includes listings of geographical places and features. Entries include information about: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.
Cogprints an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 2463 journals in the directory. Currently 724 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 120614 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
E-Print Network Search thousands of e-prints in scientific and technical disciplines.
ERIC Educational Resources Information Center ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Free Medical Journals 1450 journals sorted by either specialty or title.
HighWire Press A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content, with 999 journals and 3,801,164 full text articles from over 130 scholarly publishers. HighWire-hosted publishers have collectively made 1,478,214 articles free. With our partner publishers we produce 71 of the 200 most-frequently-cited journals.
MEDLINE via PubMedPubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
NYPL Digital Gallery NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 520,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
OAIster OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. OAIster currently provides access to 13,943,670 records from 902 contributors OAIster can be searched by Title, Author/Creator, Subject, Language or Entire Record. Searches can also be limited by resource type (text, image, audio, video, dataset) and sorted by title, author, date and hit frequency. Results allow further limiting by data contributor (i.e., where the record was harvested from).
Papal Encyclicals Online A guide to online Papal and other official documents of the Catholic Church.
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free ebooks on the Internet.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) Plos is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Qatar Digital Library The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.
RePEc Research Papers in Economics is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 57 countries and 34 US states to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available.
Shamaa (Arab Educational Information Network) Shamaa is an open access electronic database of literature on education produced in or about the Arab countries. It indexes peer-refereed articles, Master theses and PhD dissertations, books, chapters, reports and conference proceedings starting from 2007 in Arabic, English and French languages. The studies include abstracts as well as the full text, whenever available.
The Electronic Library of Mathematics The Electronic Library of Mathematics contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics. All material is in electronic form and access is generally free, except for some periodicals with a "moving wall", i.e., a certain delay period after which resources become freely available.
Theses Canada Portal This portals allows to access for free the full-text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002
TRIS [Transportation Research Information Service] 1960-present; provides over 500,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media.
United Nations Official Documents System (ODS) ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The ODS is a multilingual system. Therefore, it requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions. For access to the ODS, please ensure that your Internet browser complies with this requirement.
UNOAR Education for Justice Library of Resources Maintaining peaceful and inclusive societies - one of the primary targets of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG16) - requires individuals that understand and respect the rule of law. A robust education system is central to this, playing a vitally important role in instilling the shared values necessary for the rule of law in communities. Recognizing the need for easily accessible resources on rule of law topics, UNODC's Education for Justice (E4J) initiative has created the E4J Library of Resources - a comprehensive, open access database of pre-existing, relevant and age-appropriate educational materials.
WebMD has information regarding health and health care, including a symptom checklist, pharmacy information, drugs information, blogs of physicians with specific topics and a place to store personal medical information.
The World Bank DataBank DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries, generate tables, charts and maps and easily save, embed and share them. For more information about the database, watch the tutorial and read the FAQs.
Open Access e-Books
e-Atlas of Global Development The e-Atlas of Global development is a free, online, interactive tool, which maps and graphs more than 175 indicators from the World Bank’s development database.
ETHOS (Electronic Thesis Online Service) The British Library and the Center for Research libraries (CRL) in the US are making available 400 doctoral theses focusing on the Middle East, Islamic studies and related subjects online. The theses – which represent a wealth of UK postgraduate research into politics, culture and society in the Islamic world – can now be downloaded for free by scholars worldwide.
OpenEdition Books is a web platform for books in the humanities and social sciences. More than half of them are available in Open Access. Additional services are available through subscribing libraries and institutions.
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free ebooks on the Internet.
Theses Canada Portal This portals allows to access for free the full-text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002.
Arts / Architecture / Design
Business, Economics, Finance & Hotel Management
Geography / Maps
Grants & Scholarships
Internet / Search Engines
Language / Literature / Dictionaries
Lebanon / Middle East
Media / News/ Newspapers
Politics / Government
Religion / Philosophy
Sciences / Statistics
Universities ( Lebanon)